Costa Rica is home to 11 volcanoes, include Barva, Orosi, Poas, Cerro Tilaran, Irazu, Miravalles, Platanar, Rincon de la Vieja, Tenorio, Turrialba and Arenal. Only five (Rincón de la Vieja, Arenal, Poás, Irazú and Turrialba) have had eruptive activity in the past 400 years, even though the rest have certain level of activity (residual action) as fumaroles or gas emanation.

You can hike include Arenal, Poas and Rincon de la Vieja. If you are considering climbing a Costa Rica volcano, remember normally it’s much cooler at the top. We recommend you topack a windbreaker and plenty of water and snacks.

If you are forced to stay in San Jose for one day due to international flight schedule, The Poás, Irazú, and Arenal volcanoes are 3 of Costa Rica’s most popular destinations, and the first two are easy day trips from San José. We have a private driver in San Jose who would be more than happy to show you the best of this area.

Read more..


Arenal Volcano

Until 2010, it was Costa Rica’s most active volcano. When visiting Arenal...
Explore This Package

Poas Volcano

Located in the central highlands of Costa Rica. Visiting Poas Volcano is a popular...
Explore This Package

Rincon de la Vieja Volcano

Located in northwestern Costa Rica, about 25 km from Liberia in the province of Guanacaste. Its name...
Explore This Package

Irazu Volcano

Situated in the Cordillera Central close to the city of Cartago. From the top it...
Explore This Package

Tenorio Volcano and Miravalles Protected Zone

Located in the Guanacaste region of Costa Rica which forms part of the Arenal...
Explore This Package

Turrialba Volcano

Located in the Central Highlands of Costa Rica along the southeast corner of the...
Explore This Package